Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Home » I Ching » I Ching Hexagram 40: 解 “Deliverance” – Hsieh

I Ching Hexagram 40: 解 “Deliverance” – Hsieh

What Is I Ching Hexagram 40: 解 “Deliverance” ?

Hsieh is the Chinese name of the I Ching Hexagram 40. With inner and outer trigrams forming thunder over water, this Hexagram is called ‘deliverance’ or alternatively named ‘taking-apart’ or ‘untangled’.

Hexagram 40 represents the passing of a difficult time that has left an individual with feelings of bitterness and blame. Now it is time to put what is in the past behind us in order to progress forward.

It is hard to forgive someone for an evil deed but it is our responsibility to forgive everyone in order to let go of the situation. Holding a grudge will only hold a person back from reaching their full potential.

Interpretation & Meaning of IChing Hexagram 40: 解 "Deliverance" - Hsieh

Interpretation & Meaning of Hexagram 40:

There will come a time when someone will do something to wrong us, to cause us harm, and to leave a bitter taste in our mouth from the event. Hexagram 40 shows that now is the time to put those feelings behind us in order to progress. We cannot move on in till we let go of what might be holding us down when it comes to our inner feelings.

When a particular person’s name is mentioned, it is like a haunting from the past that stirs up old feelings of rage and pain. It is hard to forget about a person’s wrong doings especially when they’ve have a strong impact on your personal life.

Forgiving someone does not come easy, not even with the passing of time. It is an inner struggle we all must face at one point or another before we are able to move on and start anew.

Starting again is a wonderful feeling when letting go of a troublesome time period. Emotional feelings are often left over that will cause for these tough memories to resurface from time to time. But in order to start again we must banish them in order to be successful.

I Ching Hexagram 40 – Personal Goals:

In order to let go of everything that has been building up since a difficult phase, take small steps to overcome the emotional roller coaster. The healing process is not one that can be completed over night. Start small and look at each day instead of each week.

Take one hour at a time in order to endure and overcome bitterness and heavy grieving. There is not a limit to how much time we have to find peace within the world again, but starting the journey to finding happiness once again is the most important part.

There is an abundance of beauty that is still waiting to be discovered in the world. Finding joy in each day will allow an individual to heal and start walking the life path once again.

Accurate IChing Forecasts


I Ching Hexagram 40 – Love:

We need to forget about an old relationship that did not work out and find a new partner. It can difficult to seek new love when a past one was horrible. Just because one situation was difficult, does not mean the next one is going to be same. Holding the harsh emotions inside will only prevent feelings of joy and love from filling our inner selves.

I Ching Hexagram 40 – Career & Business:

In the work area we might have to resolve a conflict in order to progress. Do not dream big at this point but take small steps forward. Do not let previous problems in business stop you from moving forward with new ventures.


DELIVERANCE. The southwest furthers.
If there is no longer anything where one has to go,
Return brings good fortune.
If there is still something where one has to go,
Hastening brings good fortune.


Thunder and rain set in:
The image of DELIVERANCE.
Thus the superior man pardons mistakes
And forgives misdeeds.


Life is not without pain and grief. But to know pain is to know happiness and to understand sadness is to recognize happiness. There is a balance to all things in life. We must let go of all negative feelings in order to heal and accept positive changes in our lives.

All phases in life are temporary and will either end or have a turning point. Don’t allow sadness to hold you down from experiencing life again. There is someone waiting to enter your life or a new opportunity that is waiting your readiness. Hexagram 40 shows that importance of throwing away the old in order to receive the new.

The 64 Hexagrams

1乾 Force Ch’ien2坤 Field K’un
3屯 Difficult in the Beginning Chun4蒙 Youthful Folly Meng
5需 Waiting Hsu6訟 Conflict Sung
7師 Integrity Shih8比 Holding Together Pi
9小畜 Attention To Detail Hsiao Ch’u10履 Correct Conduct Lu
11泰 Peace T’ai12否 Stagnation P’i
13同人 Fellowship T’ung Jen14大有 Abundance Ta Yu
15謙 Humbling Ch’ien16豫 Enthusiasm Yu
17隨 Following Sui18蠱 Correcting Ku
19臨 Nearing Lin20觀 Observation Kuan
21噬嗑 Biting Through Shih Ho22賁 Grace Pi
23剝 Splitting Apart Po24復 Returning Fu
25無妄 Innocence Wu Wang26大畜 Great Accumulating Ta Ch’u
27頤 Nourishment I28大過 Preponderance of the Great Ta Kuo
29坎The Abysmal K’an30離Radiance Li
31咸Courtship Hsien32恆Constancy Heng
33遯 Retreat Tun34大壯 Great Invigorating Ta Chuang
35晉 Progress Chin36明夷 Darkening of the Light Ming I
37家人 The Family Chai Jen38睽 Opposition K’uei
39蹇 Obstruction Chien40解 Deliverance Hsieh
41損 Decrease Sun42益 Increase I
43夬 Displacement Kuai44姤 Coming to Meet Kou
45萃 Gathering Together Ts’ui46升 Ascending Sheng
47困 Exhaustion K’un48井 The Well Ching
49革 Revolution Ko50鼎 The Cauldron Ting
51震 The Arousing Chen52艮 Stilling Ken
53漸 Gradual Progress Chien54歸 妹 The Marrying Maiden Kuei Mei
55豐 Abundance Feng56旅 The Wanderer Lu
57巽 Ground Sun58兌 Open Tui
59渙 Dispersion Huan60節 Limitation Chieh
61中孚 Center Returning Chung Fu62小 過 Small Surpassing Hsaio Kup
63既 濟 After Completion Chi Chi64未 濟 Before Completion Wei Chi
Other I Ching Links: IChing Astrology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *