Monday, November 19, 2018
Home » I Ching » I Ching Hexagram 5: 需 “Waiting” – Hsu

I Ching Hexagram 5: 需 “Waiting” – Hsu

What Is I Ching Hexagram 5: “Waiting” – Hsu ?

Hsu is the Chinese name of the I Ching Hexagram 5. With inner and outer trigrams forming water over heaven, this Hexagram is called ‘waiting’ or alternatively named ‘attending’ or ‘arriving’. Hexagram 5 is a warning but also a promise of the benefits of waiting. Patience is one of the hardest lessons to learn, but this symbol helps explain why that while on the life path there will be many periods of waiting and preparing.

Interpretation & Meaning of IChing Hexagram 5: 需 "Waiting" - Hsu

Interpretation & Meaning of Hexagram 5:

Hexagram 5 defines that patience is the key to any period of waiting in life. There is often not a time in our life that we enjoy waiting. The constant flow of life doesn’t react well when we must stop and wait for something else to happen.

But there are many benefits of waiting. To be able to analyze a situation before putting into action a solution helps secure a positive outcome. Waiting and patience go hand in hand. Not waiting long enough or being too hasty to react can only cause more problems.

While taking the time to wait, our minds can often run wild with the different possibilities and solutions to the next phase of life that is about to happen. Sometimes we let go of what we know to be true and bits of worry start to flood our mind. Worrying is a thought process that will only cripple the body.

Like a rocking chair, we can do a lot of rocking, like worrying, but it will get us nowhere. Instead, dismiss thoughts that can bring fear into our life and instead be hopeful of what is about to happen. Focus on the knowledge that is gained when we wait.

I Ching Hexagram 5 – Personal Goals:

Let go of all forms of worrying in our personal life in order to see the situation more clearly. Accept that waiting is necessary and that great knowledge can be obtained from taking the initiative to wait calmly.

Becoming frustrated, while waiting, will often hinder the possibility for success. Instead be patient and open minded. You can be surprised by the little mistakes that were over looked in the progress of planning. Waiting allows the mind to be opened to a new perspective that might save your life from periods of sorrow.

I Ching Hexagram 5 – Love:

By understanding the power of patience, we can then show kindness to others that have wronged us or give understanding to those who are younger than us and often irritate us to the point of frustration. Patience is the key to overcoming any obstacle because we know that all periods of difficult will not last forever. Waiting in patience is how we continue to move on from that stagnant period. In love, have the patience to wait for your true love. If you are already in a relationship, you will find happiness.

Accurate IChing Forecasts


I Ching Hexagram 5 – Career & Business:

When we enter a period of waiting, it is often forced upon us. We are able to recognize the need to wait but often rebel against this necessity. Now is the time to re-look at any plans that are about to be put into place. Take the extra time to wait and analyze well thought out plans, but do so in a humble manner. Take this time to review a business plan before putting into place.


WAITING. If you are sincere,
You have light and success.
Perseverance brings good fortune.
It furthers one to cross the great water.


Clouds rise up to heaven:
The image of WAITING.
Thus the superior man eats and drinks,
Is joyous and of good cheer.


Let Hexagram 5 be a reminder and warning on the process of waiting. It’s important to understand that taking the time to wait is necessary. Waiting is considered with such negative connotation that it is hard to remember what is gained when we wait. Patience is one of the most important characteristics that we can gain in life and it is gained through waiting.

There are ways to overcome the process of waiting that comes upon us suddenly by knowing that it will not last forever and there is a reason this period has come upon us. Great knowledge was never obtained quickly, but instead with patience and many stages of pondering.

The 64 Hexagrams

1乾 Force Ch’ien2坤 Field K’un
3屯 Difficult in the Beginning Chun4蒙 Youthful Folly Meng
5需 Waiting Hsu6訟 Conflict Sung
7師 Integrity Shih8比 Holding Together Pi
9小畜 Attention To Detail Hsiao Ch’u10履 Correct Conduct Lu
11泰 Peace T’ai12否 Stagnation P’i
13同人 Fellowship T’ung Jen14大有 Abundance Ta Yu
15謙 Humbling Ch’ien16豫 Enthusiasm Yu
17隨 Following Sui18蠱 Correcting Ku
19臨 Nearing Lin20觀 Observation Kuan
21噬嗑 Biting Through Shih Ho22賁 Grace Pi
23剝 Splitting Apart Po24復 Returning Fu
25無妄 Innocence Wu Wang26大畜 Great Accumulating Ta Ch’u
27頤 Nourishment I28大過 Preponderance of the Great Ta Kuo
29坎The Abysmal K’an30離Radiance Li
31咸Courtship Hsien32恆Constancy Heng
33遯 Retreat Tun34大壯 Great Invigorating Ta Chuang
35晉 Progress Chin36明夷 Darkening of the Light Ming I
37家人 The Family Chai Jen38睽 Opposition K’uei
39蹇 Obstruction Chien40解 Deliverance Hsieh
41損 Decrease Sun42益 Increase I
43夬 Displacement Kuai44姤 Coming to Meet Kou
45萃 Gathering Together Ts’ui46升 Ascending Sheng
47困 Exhaustion K’un48井 The Well Ching
49革 Revolution Ko50鼎 The Cauldron Ting
51震 The Arousing Chen52艮 Stilling Ken
53漸 Gradual Progress Chien54歸 妹 The Marrying Maiden Kuei Mei
55豐 Abundance Feng56旅 The Wanderer Lu
57巽 Ground Sun58兌 Open Tui
59渙 Dispersion Huan60節 Limitation Chieh
61中孚 Center Returning Chung Fu62小 過 Small Surpassing Hsaio Kup
63既 濟 After Completion Chi Chi64未 濟 Before Completion Wei Chi
Other I Ching Links: IChing Astrology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *