Saturday, November 17, 2018
Home » I Ching » I Ching Hexagram 20: 觀 “Observation” – Kuan

I Ching Hexagram 20: 觀 “Observation” – Kuan

What Is I Ching Hexagram 20: 觀 “Observation” ?

Kuan is the Chinese name of the I Ching Hexagram 20. With inner and outer trigrams forming wind over Earth, this Hexagram is called ‘observation’ or alternatively named ‘viewing’ or ‘contemplation’.

Hexagram 20 symbolizes the need to move away from the current and reconnect with society. When you only focus on potential problems, your mind can be directed away from the big picture. It is important to remain alert at all times in order to observe what is happening around you.

Interpretation & Meaning of IChing Hexagram 20: 觀 "Observation" - Kuan

Interpretation & Meaning of Hexagram 20:

Hexagram 20 represents the potential of missing parts of life when we focus on one part. We can worry so much about what potential problems might be arising that we isolate ourselves from the world and become only concerned with our issues. This hexagram shows the importance of be observant but also suggests look up from our work in order to see the world around us.

When we realize that our focus has been obscured from reality, it is then time to start reconnecting with society. This could mean include going to public events such as concerts and shows to feel a part of a group.

When we step outside our comfort zone to see what all is happening in life around us, it is easy to forget all that worries us and can even help us move forward. When feeling isolated in one environment, consider traveling to rid the mind and soul of those feelings. A new discovery can be the key to understanding current problems.

I Ching Hexagram 20 – Personal Goals:

When we feel left out from the rest of the world, take the time to give life a reassessment. This can be done by observing the community up close or from a far. It can be fun and fascinating to take part in the changes in the community.

Venture out into the world and or even travel alone to gain a new perspective and realize there is more to life than what has been currently understood.

I Ching Hexagram 20 – Love:

The soul and spirit can sometimes feel weak when we take ourselves out of reality and only focus on ourselves. When we have gone a long time without reconnecting with friends and family, we can feel alone or even unwanted. This is subconscious consequences of not focusing on the larger picture of life.

Take this time speak with those you haven’t spoken to in a long time. Hexagram 20 explains that by being attentive to the world around you, those who fill your life with love can often help you realize your place in the world. It is human nature to want to surround ourselves with other people that will help uplift our spirits and nourish the soul.

Accurate IChing Forecasts


I Ching Hexagram 20 – Career & Business:

In the work environment, it is easy to get into a routine that never changes or deviates. When this realization occurs, there are a few solutions that can help reignite the business area and inspire new working relationships. Take the time to become reacquainted with clients and customers.

Investigate their needs and wants to see if new changes need to be made in production. Every phase in life is temporary and so are the needs of a society. Taking the time to discover these new needs might mean a larger opportunity for the business. Venture into the community and meet with business clients to honestly learn about them.


CONTEMPLATION. The ablution has been made,
But not yet the offering.
Full of trust they look up to him.


The wind blows over the earth:
Thus the kings of old visited the regions of the world,
Contemplated the people,
And gave them instruction.


Hexagram 20 is great advice to follow that will help the progress of success as we realize the world is going through constant change. Not being able to take the advice of others or constantly sheltering ourselves from reality will only led us into misunderstanding. It will then be hard to see what is going on around us and we can then lose the opportunity to progress.

The 64 Hexagrams

1乾 Force Ch’ien2坤 Field K’un
3屯 Difficult in the Beginning Chun4蒙 Youthful Folly Meng
5需 Waiting Hsu6訟 Conflict Sung
7師 Integrity Shih8比 Holding Together Pi
9小畜 Attention To Detail Hsiao Ch’u10履 Correct Conduct Lu
11泰 Peace T’ai12否 Stagnation P’i
13同人 Fellowship T’ung Jen14大有 Abundance Ta Yu
15謙 Humbling Ch’ien16豫 Enthusiasm Yu
17隨 Following Sui18蠱 Correcting Ku
19臨 Nearing Lin20觀 Observation Kuan
21噬嗑 Biting Through Shih Ho22賁 Grace Pi
23剝 Splitting Apart Po24復 Returning Fu
25無妄 Innocence Wu Wang26大畜 Great Accumulating Ta Ch’u
27頤 Nourishment I28大過 Preponderance of the Great Ta Kuo
29坎The Abysmal K’an30離Radiance Li
31咸Courtship Hsien32恆Constancy Heng
33遯 Retreat Tun34大壯 Great Invigorating Ta Chuang
35晉 Progress Chin36明夷 Darkening of the Light Ming I
37家人 The Family Chai Jen38睽 Opposition K’uei
39蹇 Obstruction Chien40解 Deliverance Hsieh
41損 Decrease Sun42益 Increase I
43夬 Displacement Kuai44姤 Coming to Meet Kou
45萃 Gathering Together Ts’ui46升 Ascending Sheng
47困 Exhaustion K’un48井 The Well Ching
49革 Revolution Ko50鼎 The Cauldron Ting
51震 The Arousing Chen52艮 Stilling Ken
53漸 Gradual Progress Chien54歸 妹 The Marrying Maiden Kuei Mei
55豐 Abundance Feng56旅 The Wanderer Lu
57巽 Ground Sun58兌 Open Tui
59渙 Dispersion Huan60節 Limitation Chieh
61中孚 Center Returning Chung Fu62小 過 Small Surpassing Hsaio Kup
63既 濟 After Completion Chi Chi64未 濟 Before Completion Wei Chi
Other I Ching Links: IChing Astrology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *