Ian McEwan Biography, Life, Interesting Facts


Ian McEwan

Birthday :

June 21, 1948

Also Known For :


Birth Place :

Aldershot, England, United Kingdom

Zodiac Sign :


Chinese Zodiac :


Birth Element :


Ian Russell McEwan was born on June 21, 1948. He is an English screenwriter and novelist. He has written Gothic short stories such as ‘The Cement Garden’ and ‘The Comfort of Strangers’. He has written novels such as ‘Enduring Love,’ ‘Atonement,’ ‘Saturday,’ ‘The Children Act’ and ‘Nutshell’ among others. He is currently seventy years old.

Early Life

Ian Russell McEwan was born on June 21, 1948, in England. He was born to David McEwan and Rose Lilian Violet. Ian spent most of his childhood in Germany, North Africa, and East Asia. At the age of 12, his family returned to England. They resided in different places since his father was in the Army and held the rank of major.

He attended Woolverstone Hall School for his primary education. He later joined the University of Sussex. In 1970, he graduated from the university with a degree in English Literature. He then attended the University of East Anglia where he obtained a Master’s Degree in Literature.



In 1975, Ian McEwan started his career by publishing the short stories book ‘First Love, Last Rites.’ The following year, the book won the Somerset Maugham Award. In 1978, he published the collection of short stories ‘In Between the Sheets.’ In 1978, he published ‘The Cement Garden.’ Two years later, he published ‘The Comfort of Strangers’. ‘The Cement Garden’ and ‘The Comfort of Strangers’ which were adapted into films. In 1985, he published the children’s book ‘Rose Blanche.’ Two years later, he published ‘The Child in Time’ which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel Award.

In 1990, he published the drama book ‘The Innocent’ followed by ‘Black Dogs’ in 1992. In 1994, he published the children’s book ‘The Daydreamer.’ In 1997, he released and published the novel ‘Enduring Love.’ In 2004, the novel was adapted into a film. In 1998, the novel ‘Amsterdam’ won him the Man Booker Prize. In 2001, he published the novel ‘Atonement’ which was a success. In 2007, the novel was adapted into the film with the same name, and it starred Keira Knightley and James McAvoy.

In 2005, Ian McEwan released the book ‘Saturday’ which was also a success and won him the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. Two years later, he published the novel ‘On Chesil Beach.’ In 2010, his novel ‘Solar’ was published by Doubleday and Jonathan Cape. In 2012, he published his novel number twelve titled ‘Sweet Tooth.’ In 2014, he published the novel ‘The Children Act’ which was all about courts and family law. In 2016, he published his most recent novel ‘Nutshell.’ In 2018, he published the novella ‘My Purple Scented Novel.’


Awards and Achievements

Ian McEwan is a fellow of various societies such as the Royal Society of Literature, Royal Society of Arts and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 1999, he received the Shakespeare Prize from the Alfred Toepfer Foundation. In 2000, he received the CBE. In 2005, he was awarded the Harold and Ethel L. Stellfox Visiting Scholar and Writers Program Award in Pennsylvania.

In 2008, he received an honorary doctorate of Doctor of Literature from the University College London. In 2006, he received the Kenyon Review Award for Literary Achievement. In 2010, he was awarded the Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Author Award. One year later, he received the Jerusalem Prize for the Freedom of the Individual in Society. In 2012, he received the gold medal for his contributions to literature from the University of Sussex.


Personal Life

In 1982, Ian McEwan married his first wife Penny Allen, but they divorced in 1995. Together they have two sons. In 1997, he married Annalena McAfee. They are still married to date. Ian is currently seventy years old.

June 21 Horoscope

More Authors

More People From England

More People From United Kingdom

More Cancer People

More Chinese Rat People