Saturday, September 23, 2023

Houses In Astrology

Houses Symbolism In Astrology

There are 12 houses in astrology that are shown in a native’s birth chart or horoscope. Each of the houses is responsible for one aspect in an individual’s life which is important for his or her well being. These astrological houses tell us more about a person’s nature, his reactions, relationships and love life, wealth, social interactions, professional commitments, mental stability and much more.


Like the 12 zodiac signs, each astrological house is ruled by planet known as the house lord. The 1st, 4th, 7th, 10th houses are considered to be important and known as angular houses. These 4 astrology houses are cut by the ascendant sign, nadir sign, descendant sign and mid heaven sign.

The 2nd, 5th, 8th, 11th houses are the succedent houses responsible for stability. The 3rd, 6th, 9th, 12th houses known as cadent houses show your outgoing personality. The position of the planets in house influences their effects on the life of individuals accordingly.

The calculation of the astrology house positions in your horoscope is done on the basis of exact time of birth. The 12 houses are spread out in a 360 degree circle. There are many methods for calculations of houses like Koch, Campanus, Regiomontanus with Placidus being the most commonly used technique.

Now let us take a look at the 12 astrological houses and their significance.


12 Astrological Houses Meanings

1st House

Also known as : House Of Self

The first house in astrology is known as the ascendant house. This tells you more about your identity and the image that you portray to the world. It also influences the planets present in this house which is reflected in your persona.

2nd House

Also known as : House Of Possessions

The second astrological house deals with material needs and wealth. It shows what is important to you. It can also stand for your hidden talents, materialistic desires and physical aspects of life. It shows how you earn or spend your money.


3rd House

Also known as : House Of Communication

The astrology third house shows your relationships with your brothers and sisters. It shows how you communicate with your colleagues and friends. You also come to know more about your journeys and travels in life.

4th House

Also known as : House Of Family

The fourth house is a symbol of your relations with your family. Do you make a good parent or a bad child? Or how much do you value your home and surroundings? This also deals with your emotions and feelings.


5th House

Also known as : House Of Pleasures

The fifth house astrology shows how social you are. Are you a creative person who has many hobbies? Do you love taking risks? Is commitment in relationships important to you? This house answers all these questions and much more.

6th House

Also known as : House Of Health

The sixth astrological house deals with your day-to-day life and health ailments. It shows how energetic you are. Also what kind of work you would like to do. This house also shows your attitude towards people who work under you.

7th House

Also known as : House Of Relationships

The seventh house in astrology deals with all kinds of relationships in your life. This includes marriage, business partnerships, friendships, divorce, breakups and agreements. This also talks about long term associations and deals.

8th House

Also known as : House Of Passion

The eighth house stands for changes, money from other sources and sexual passion. It also deals with life and death. There is something mysterious about this house with its relation to the mystic and occult aspect of your life.

9th House

Also known as : House Of Philosophy

The ninth house deals with spirituality and philosophy. It talks of your dreams, inner desires and travels to far off lands. This also deals with higher education and deep understanding of rituals, wisdom and abstract concepts.

10th House

Also known as : House Of Career

The tenth astrological house is related to your professional success, status and reputation in society. It also talks about your material success, fame, honor and the most public areas of your life. It also stands for your ambitions and goals in life.

11th House

Also known as : House Of Friendships

The eleventh house in astrology deals with groups of people and friendships. It shows the nature of your associations and your standing in these groups. It also shows your realization of your position in life.

12th House

Also known as : House Of Subconscious

The twelfth house is also known as the house of Karma. It deals with that part of you which is hidden to the real world, i.e. your subconscious. It talks about your spiritual inclination, mental illness, hidden enemies and everything that confines your being.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.