Monday, June 24, 2024

Vedic Astrology: How Does It Work?

Vedic Astrology: How Does It Work?

The individual’s birth Nakshatra or lunar mansion is the starting point for any Jyotish reading in Vedic Astrology. The Sanskrit word Nakshatra means “that which does not decay” and together the 27 Nakshatras represent the Universe and human consciousness.  As such, they saturate the universe and each Nakshatra represents a certain aspect of consciousness.


Similar to the sun sign of Western Astrology, an individual’s birth (Janma) Nakshatra is easily determined from the time of birth and the corresponding position on the Nakshatra chart (readily available from innumerable internet sources).


The next factor to consider is the position of the nine planets at the time of birth. The task is made easy with the regular publication of Ephemeris tables.  These invaluable tools indicate the position of planets, Nakshatras, Houses, direct and retrograde motion of the planets, and timing of eclipses for any date.


Vedic Astrology

Some sources have tables dating back to the 1600s and beyond. It is important to note that there are differences between Eastern and Western Ephemeris tables and practitioners need to be certain they are utilizing the correct information. After the identification of the individual’s House/Rashi the quality, or nature, of the House is classified.


The quality associated with the house indicates how the individual will direct their energy in life and is often reflected in the individual’s personality. While none of the qualities are regarded as good or bad, they each possess a unique intern that is associated with certain challenges, career choices, family situations, etc.


Similar to the idea of positive, negative, and neutral electrical charges, Cardinal/Chara influences may be viewed as positive, Fixed/Sthira, and negative Mutable/Dwiswabhava influences.

House Ruler Element Quadrant
Aries Mars/Mangala Fire Cardinal/Chara
Taurus Venus/Shukra Earth Fixed/Sthira
Gemini Mercury/Budha Air Mutable/Dwiswabhava
Cancer Moon/Chandra Water Cardinal/Chara
Leo Sun/Surya Fire Fixed/Sthira
Virgo Mercury/Budha Earth Mutable/Dwiswabhava
Libra Venus/Shukra Air Cardinal/Chara
Scorpio Mars/Mangala Water Fixed/Sthira
Sagittarius Jupiter/Guru Fire Mutable/Dwiswabhava
Capricorn Saturn/Shani Earth Cardinal/Chara
Aquarius Saturn/Shani Air Fixed/Sthira
Pisces Jupiter/Guru Water Mutable/Dwiswabhava

Vedic Astrology

Cardinal Types

Driven to motion, people of action are known to possess a Cardinal influence and they tend to be positive, dynamic individuals who can achieve a modicum of success when they are walking the right path.

However, these individuals may be self-destructive, impulsive, and prone to aggression as they are generally lacking in compassion.

Well suited for contemporary life they have self-confidence, seek individual success, and are determined to achieve their goals.  To maintain a balanced and healthy lifestyle, Cardinals work to cultivate compassion, adaptability, and patience.

Vedic Astrology

Fixed Types

Just as one might assume, fixed types are stable, firm in their beliefs, and steadfast on their journeys. They resist change, as their preference is for preservation. As such, they are quite consistent, have and do not waver in their positions. They may be possessive over people and things and have difficulty letting go.  When they are out of balance they may be insensitive, detached, and resistant.

The fixed can be moved; however, the change is slow. Although thoughtful, these stable individuals aren’t known to generate new ideas or innovations, they prefer to dwell in their comfort zones and rudiment over what is already known and accepted. To maintain balance, fixed personalities develop their initiative and try new things. With a mindful approach, they can be sensitive, flexible, and open to new ideas.

cardinal fixed mutable

Mutable Types

Mutable qualities correspond to the subtle, transformative states which may cause instability and hypersensitivity. They are adaptable, intelligent, and can thrive in most environments. Their fluctuating energy pattern may leave a mutable one indecisive, inconsistent, and unable to finish what they start. They are generally intellectuals who think, calculate, and reflect on contemporary issues.


They are more known to be plagued with mental and/or nervous disorders, immune dysfunction, and allergies. Mutab are masters of communication and have a propensity for business and entertainment. When walking their good walk, they are sensitive and non-judgmental and when out of balance are known to be erratic, unreliable, and neurotic.

From the understanding of the Nakshatra, the position of the planets in the houses, and the character of the House, we can begin reading the individual’s chart. The ancient protocols, rules, exceptions, and variations provide an infinite number of combinations that together represent the entire scope of humanness.

The practitioner can map the variables on a chart specifically designed for the purpose and the reading can begin. It is important to note that interpretation of the map alone won’t result in exceptionally deep or meaningful readings.

The experience, intuition, and insight of the practitioner are essential components of every reading, and astrology readings created without the guidance of someone with significant experience working with the system will generally result in flat, somewhat lifeless readings.

Also See:

Vedic Astrology Signs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.